wed 21/08/2019

Japanese musicians give earthquake benefit concert | reviews, news & interviews

Japanese musicians give earthquake benefit concert

Japanese musicians give earthquake benefit concert

Sapporo’s long-serving principal conductor Tadaaki Otaka, whom audiences here will know from his fine concerts and recordings with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, said: "It was an unforeseen and terrible disaster, from which all Japanese people are working extremely hard to recover. We, the musicians, wish to turn our London appearance into a charity concert in aid of the vital relief efforts in our country. Please join us and help Japan."

General Manager Toshio Miyazawa added: "We appeal to music lovers to support us in this; with deepest gratitude for their generosity, we will perform our very best." The programme mixes lamentation and fortitude with Takemitsu’s How Slow the Wind, Bruch’s First Violin Concerto with violinist Akiko Suwanai and Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony.

Watch Otaka conduct a Japanese orchestra in the catastrophic scherzo of Elgar's Second Symphony

Share this article

Add comment

Subscribe to

Thank you for continuing to read our work on For unlimited access to every article in its entirety, including our archive of more than 10,000 pieces, we're asking for £3.95 per month or £30 per year. We feel it's a very good deal, and hope you do too.

To take an annual subscription now simply click here.

And if you're looking for that extra gift for a friend or family member, why not treat them to a gift subscription?


Get a weekly digest of our critical highlights in your inbox each Thursday!

Simply enter your email address in the box below

View previous newsletters