sat 20/07/2024

Five new Rambert choreographers | Arts News

Five new Rambert choreographers

rambert newRambert's fine dancers turn choreographer in a new season of four creations to be shown at the Southbank Centre on 31 May. In keeping with the high-quality ethos of the company, each has a new music commission with it, played live by members of the Rambert Orchestra.

Dane Hurst, Mbulelo Ndabeni, Patricia Okenwa, and Jonathan Goddard & Gemma Nixon are the embryonic dance-makers. Hurst's The Window, scored by Christopher Mayo, portrays a household in crisis. The tensions and power struggles between two men have inspired Mbulelo Ndabeni to choreograph and perform a duet with fellow Rambert dancer Miguel Altunaga, set to a new work by cellist and composer Semay Wu. Patricia Okenwa collaborates with musician Mark Bowden and designer Hyemi Shin to create a new piece for five women that examines rituals in behaviour. Jonathan Goddard and Gemma Nixon’s new work for four dancers takes as its starting-point the words of Rene Magritte: “Everything we see hides another thing, we always want to see what is hidden by what we see”, with new music by Spanish composer Miguel Marín.

Rambert Dance Company has a strong track record of nurturing young choreographers from within its ranks, most recently Christopher Bruce, Rafael Bonachela and Mark Baldwin, Rambert’s Artistic Directo, who celebrates 10 years at the helm of the Company this year. In 2013 Rambert will move to a new purpose-built home on London’s South Bank. This world-class facility will enable the Company to cement its status as a powerhouse for new choreography of international standing that boldly feeds contemporary dance and audiences across the UK.


Production Houses: 

Add comment

Filtered HTML

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

We at The Arts Desk hope that you have been enjoying our coverage of the arts. If you like what you’re reading, do please consider making a donation. A contribution from you will help us to continue providing the high-quality arts writing that won us the Best Specialist Journalism Website award at the 2012 Online Media Awards. To make a one-off contribution click Donate or to set up a regular standing order click Subscribe.

With thanks and best wishes from all at The Arts Desk